House Hunt- the back story

This blog was originally created, in part, to showcase my hunt for a weekend/investment house in upstate NY. Every time I’ve gone on a house-hunting trip with my realtor I’ve said I was going to do a blog post about the houses I see, the pros and cons, etc…… it’s never once happened. This blog has been around for a year now with only a measly, but well written (Thanks Tony!) post about delicious kale chips.

After MONTHS of searching, falling in love, making offers, having my heart broken, I’m finally making a post about the search. The price range that I’m looking in is low, so the houses are either in bad condition to the point where I can’t get a conventional mortgage (which I need), or the competition is fierce and I’m outbid. I’ve been looking in Sullivan County so-far, and have looked at around 20 homes in person and countless more online.

Here are the places that I fell in love with, tried to buy, and that didn’t work out for one reason or another.

This one was the first. It was out of my price range, but I low-balled it and the seller accepted! I thought my dreams came true. The night before my home inspection, I got a call from my broker saying someone out-bid me by $20k. I was already at my max, and lost out.

Image

3 bed, 1.5 Bath, 10 Acres with a creek in the backyard

This one was listed on a Saturday, I put a full price offer on it on Monday, on Thursday the seller accepted a full price cash offer over mine.

Image

2 bed, 1 bath, 1 acre

Look at that view! FML

image

Cute home, super cheap. It needed lots of work but the price, location and privacy were all amazing. Seller refused my full price offer and would only take cash.

image

2 bed, 1 bath, 12 acres

This one was a huge old farmhouse. The inside was ugly but had potential. In the end some drama with an underground oil tank that took this off the table.

image-9

5 bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 acres

So that’s the back-story. 8+ Months of hunting and offering and nothing working out. I know it’s a difficult process, especially when your budget is small, but it’s been hard to not be discouraged. This weekend, I’m switching gears and looking in Ulster County. Ulster is more expensive, with smaller homes and properties in my price range, but I’d be closer to friends and the towns are much nicer. It’s all about compromise I suppose! More on the Ulster County hunt coming soon!….. If I ever post here again.

One thought on “House Hunt- the back story

  1. Pingback: #klubkingston | The 11-25

Leave a Reply

