Blogspiration

I read a ton of blogs. I’ve read the whole internet. I was devastated when Google Reader shut down (sorry, Feedly doesn’t cut it). There are a few blogs that stand out to me as total inspiration for starting this blog and for what I want it to become. They’re beautifully presented, well written, and have extremely creative content, hopefully this blog will develop into something of a similar caliber to these folks. Until then, it’s a work-in-progress as I commit more time to it and work on my wordpress skillz! This blog has a long way to go aesthetically before I’m happy with the layout.

Here are a few of my fave blogs, in no particular order.

Hommemaker: I want to rub this blog all over my face. It’s probably the best written, and funniest yet informative blog I read. I’ve even printed out a post and shared it with my therapist (true story). It also makes me think that I could possibly live in LA instead of NYC. I’d totally let this guy be my 1950’s housewife and live in a beautiful home that he decorated, but that I couldn’t afford to finance and would leave my clothes and shoes all over.

ImageImage

Smitten Studio: I read this blog 99% for the amazing do-it-yourself cabin renovation that this very stylish, pretty lady and her husband are doing. I’m planning on stealing every idea from their blog for when I eventually have a cabin of my own to renovate. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right? Her style section is well done too, if you’re into that, which I’m not really because 1.) I work in fashion and get enough of that at work and 2.) I’m not a lady…. If #1 and #2 don’t apply to you, you’d be stupid not to like 100% of this blog.

ImageImage

The William Brown Project: What’s not to like? The photography is great (the author is Matthew Hranek) it’s upstate NY, exactly where I’ve been house hunting. There’s MEAT and cooking and food. There are guns, vintage stuff, a cabin, a mid-century design house. It’s everything I wish my life was.

ImageImageChris Loves Julia: I discovered this blog, like, uh….12 hours ago and I’ve read the whole thing. It’s proof that at least someone has good taste that doesn’t live in NYC or LA (who knew!?). They’ve transformed, an otherwise characterless, basic, neighborhood home into something chic. No easy task, and it’s been done on a budget! They also write about cooking, and buying/selling houses, obviously up my alley.

ImageImage

There are a bazillion other really great blogs out there, and maybe I’ll post about more of them. If you don’t know about these 4, look at them right now, obsessively read them start to finish until your eyes bleed from their glowing beauty, just like I’ve done.

2 thoughts on “Blogspiration

  1. Pingback: Blogspiration part deux | The 11-25

Leave a Reply

